our showroom in Wallingford
reliable, convenient shopping
check out the product reviews
Features
we accept paypal
Loading...
we stock maxi-cosi products
BPA Regional Winner 2009 - Nursery Retailer of the Year

 

Navigation: Home

Product Review


Out 'n' about Nipper 360 Double

Out 'n' about Nipper 360 Double Mums Love
Number of reviews: 10   

Overall score: 10 out of 10

All terrain 3 wheeler pushchair

Buy now from the shop, price £359.95

Fantastic Double

Parent Panel review by Sophie - review date 24 January 2007
After I had my second child I thought I could go out with my newborn in my Wilkinet baby carrier and my toddler in the buggy. Or, alternatively, with baby in the pram and toddler walking or on the buggy board. Guess what...neither was ideal. My 2 year old is a bit too young for the buggy board and cannot walk very far yet. I walk the dog every day (on a muddy field) so I need a hand free to hold the lead (although the lead can go around my wrist) and in the end I decided I need a double buggy.

But which one?? I was reluctant to spend a fortune as I already have two prams (one very expensive) and I imagined the pram park in my house...but on the other hand I wanted my newborn to be safe and snug so a double buggy with (not totally) reclining seats and small plastic wheels (quite bumpy for baby) seemed a bad choice. I needed a pram with big pneumatic wheels (so I can walk the dog off road), snug and safe for a newborn and comfy for a toddler. I narrowed it down to the Jane Powertwin (turned out too heavy), the Phil & Ted (not my thing) and the Nipper Double.

I got my Nipper last week and it is FAB! Baby lies really comfy, snug, warm and - very important - flat. Toddler sits up and can see out. The buggy is not very wide and I can get into shops and fit on pavements and on narrow paths. The best thing about this double buggy is that it is SO LIGHT! I can get on and off curbs with one hand - steer with one hand. The weight of the children is hardly noticable - no problems with the buggy 'leaning' to the heavier side. The swivel wheel makes moving around incredibly easy.

The shopping basket is handy but it comes with huge pockets at the back of each seat and handy pockets in the huge hood.

Folding it is a dream. A few clips and it folds down. It is a big thing when folded (compared to a single pram) but apparently it is still small compared to other doubles. It fits into my estate car boot. I can lift it myself in and out of the boot (it weighs around 9 kilos).

All in all - it is the best and just what I needed! On top of all this - it looks fab and comes in great colours - the 'sand' is particularly nice.

I would recommend it to anyone - it is just a dream to steer. Quite pricey but a well made, fab looking, and a very practical double. I expect it to last for years.

Best Feature:
Worst Feature:
Verdict:

  
Ease of Use: 10 out of 10
Value for Money: 8 out of 10
Quality: 10 out of 10
Overall score: 9 out of 10
About the reviewer: Mother of a 2 year old boy and a 4 week old baby boy.

Lightest 3 wheeler on the market!!

Test length: 4 weeks
Parent Panel review by Anna Colls - review date 11 December 2006
At just 7kg, this is a very light buggy. It's suitable from newborn (lies completely flat) to around 4 years old and is forward facing.

Shopping basket size/accessibility: It comes with a drawcord bag attached to rear of seat, has zip up pockets on each side of hood and if that's not enough for you, you can buy a shopping basket/tray for £14.

Type of fold and ease of folding: flat fold, and pneumatic wheels pop off.

Accessories available: A very snug cosy-toes, wheel pump, shopping basket/tray, buggy board or kiddi-board, cozy pockets to keep your hands warm, newborn support, sunshades/shade-a-babe, carry bag, head hugger. It already comes with a seat-liner and a raincover.

Steerable with one hand?: Oh god yes, actually could steer with one finger! It glides along.

Where do you normally use the buggy?: home streets, country and town shops.

Can you fold it/open it with one hand?: No, but it folds easily and quite compact.

Do you get comments on it when you are out? No, but have had lots of stares, points and smiles!

What kind of car is it normally transported in, have you had any problems getting it into a particular car? Well I have a VW polo 1995 which has a tinier boot than the current 2006 Polo, so it goes pretty small.

Can the fabrics be removed for cleaning? No - hand wipe down only. But the seat is always covered with a seat liner anyway.

Pros & cons: Steerable with one-finger, weighs just 7kg, seat lies completely flat for newborns, and any other angle you want! The hood is HUGE which is great, and it folds back to how you want and has a viewing window too.

Summary: Huge hood, steerable with one hand, easy fold, wheels pop off, handle height not too high, weighs just 7KG, lies completely flat, comes with seat liner, viewing window on hood, great drawcord pouch on rear of seat, wriststrap and your choice of seat angle and full raincover it's a dream!

Would you recommend it to others? Yes, without a doubt.

Marks out of 10: 9.5 out of 10. It loses 0.5 as it's not rear-facing - that is my only complaint!

Best Feature: weighs 7KG
Worst Feature: It's not rear-facing
Verdict: Light, steerable, good quality, nd a great price.

  
Ease of Use: 10 out of 10
Value for Money: 10 out of 10
Quality: 10 out of 10
Overall score: 10 out of 10
About the reviewer: Mother of Isabel 3 and Joshua 9weeks



Member reviews


 Ease of Use: 10 out of 10
 Value for Money: 10 out of 10
 Quality: 8 out of 10
 Overall score: 9 out of 10
"Recommmend to anyone"
The Out'n'about Nipper 360 Double is a pushchair I recommend to customers all the time. For a double pushchair with air filled tyres, it's so light! It really does not feel as though you are pushing a double pushchair. Very manouverable and easy to push, the Out'n'about Nippper 360 really is a grat pushchair.
Member review by Flo - review date 14 January 2011

 Ease of Use: 10 out of 10
 Value for Money: 10 out of 10
 Quality: 10 out of 10
 Overall score: 10 out of 10
"Really light and easy to push"
My sister has twins and having originally bought the Cosatto You2 in 'Bro & Sis' swapped to this pushchair when they were 3 mths old as the Cosatto had got a bit rickerty (she still uses it when they go on holiday). She loves it the Nipper 360 and wishes she had bought it from birth. I pushed the twins around a supermarket using this pushchair when they were 6mths old and I was 8 mths pregnant and found it to be amazingly easy to push.

On this basis, I recomended it to a friend who had twins and found her First Wheels City Twin too large. She now also has this pushchair and loves it just as much.

The only downside - it is still large when folded (although I am sure that it is still smaller then most other twin pushchairs).

Member review by Josie - Mum of one - review date 26 June 2009

 Ease of Use: 10 out of 10
 Value for Money: 10 out of 10
 Quality: 10 out of 10
 Overall score: 10 out of 10
"Greay buy!!"
After much research , my husband and i decided this was the best pushhchair to suit our needs. It is very lightweight and easy to steer. I have found it easy to fold and put into the boot of the car even after a c/s.

Both babies can lie flat and are very secure and comfortable.

I would definately recomend this pushchair!!

Member review by Claire - mother of 4 week old twins - review date 28 March 2009

 Ease of Use: 10 out of 10
 Value for Money: 10 out of 10
 Quality: 10 out of 10
 Overall score: 10 out of 10
"It's nippy alright!"
We didn't buy this product until after our second child was born. We did this to ensure we could test drive it with both kids inside.

We both think it's great. The pushchair is a fab design and clearly very well thought out.

We had the Single 360 from when our first daughter was about 10 months old to replace a travel system I found to be very heavy. The Nipper is such a light weight (hence the jogging strap attached to the handle!) yet sturdy mode of transport for our little one that when we found out I was pregnant again, we both agreed that the double may well be a good buy. I am pleased to say we've not been disappointed.

The double Nipper 360 is really very light and I have hardly noticed the difference between it and the single. I admit that my newborn doesn't even weigh 4.5 kilos (about 10 lbs) yet but it so fast (yet steady) to manouver I can't see that it's going to slow that much as she grows.

It "turns on a sixpence" according to my Mum, but I've not located a sixpence yet to test that out, so please don't report me to Trading Standards if I'm wrong! I can say with confidence that I am able to manouver it easily with one hand if my toddler is walking and I am having to hold her hand as well as the pushchair.

The fact that it's a three wheeler makes it seem slimmer than any four wheeled side by sides - a plus I found when trying to negotiate Ikea in the (suprisingly) slim aisles of the kids furniture section when our new addition was 2 weeks old (the baby that is, not the pushchair - that was only 1 week old)! It seemed I was able to get through a gap between a Billy bookcase and a display of tea lights more easily than a four wheeled side by side stroller.

It amazes me that although both seats are the same size, our toddler (now 23 months) looks very comfortable with plenty of growing room in hers, yet our baby (now 1 month) looks very snug and not at all "lost" in her seat.

Our toddler often still falls asleep if we are out for more than a few hours and she is very comfortable each time in the Nipper.

I am a stickler for them lying flat until they are six months and the Nipper has them lying flat, in my opinion. The differing seat angles are great.

As with the single, the hoods on the double are useful and I am sure will act as fab sun shades. The shopping basket was always adequate for us on the single and the double has double the space! The HUGE zip pockets in the hood are great for drinks, books, snacks etc.

My only wish for this pushchair was for the baby to be able to face us, which it can't. I don't think the baby is too bothered by this though!

Although this pushchair is easy to put up and fold down, it does take up a lot of room in the boot of our car (it's an estate,) but I guess most doubles would. I understand the wheels come off this to make it easier to fit.

My Husband and I think the price (about £280) is reasonable for the very high quality of the item. The footmuffs seem reasonable too compared to some of the pushchair accessories on the market.

I would (and have already) recommended this pushchair to any parent who will be having 2 under 2 (or thereabouts!).


Member review by rebecca - Mum of 2 - review date 19 February 2009

 Ease of Use: 4 out of 10
 Value for Money: 0 out of 10
 Quality: 4 out of 10
 Overall score: 3 out of 10
"silly mesh on seat units"
I paid over £300 for this after reading loads of great reviews and wish I'd saved my money - yes it swivels wonderfully and yes its lightweight for a double pushchair. However when the seat units are laid flat the see through mesh lets the sunlight and wind straight onto my newborn daughters face. I've asked their customer service if the mesh is UV protected and they said no and they don't make sunshades for the back, so I'm now unable to take the pushchair out if its sunny. Also the straps are too big for my toddler so shes able to reach round and poke her sister in the eyes. The raincover does not fit properly either. Basically I've wasted a fortune and wish I'd gone for a Firstwheels with carrycot instead. I'd recommend this for someone with older children definately not a newborn.
Member review by S - review date 26 June 2008

 Ease of Use: 8 out of 10
 Value for Money: 10 out of 10
 Quality: 10 out of 10
 Overall score: 9 out of 10
"Excellent for twin mums"
We were really unsure about which buggy to go for when we found out I was expecting two, but this was picked out really quickly!!

I love the fact that it can turn almost on the spot, this makes it really easy to get in and out of tight spaces.

It is so much narrower than it looks, and now I've got used to it I can get it in and out of some pretty slim spaces.

The boys love it, they have been comfy in it from being 4 pound newborns, and hoping it will grow with them.

It is easy to fold but is bulky to lift in and out of the car.

Overall, I love my buggy. If you want a side by side I would definately recommend it!

Member review by Angela - Mum of twin boys 7 months old - review date 13 February 2008

 Ease of Use: 8 out of 10
 Value for Money: 8 out of 10
 Quality: 6 out of 10
 Overall score: 7 out of 10
"Great except..."
Great buggy. Have used for a year, through all kinds of terrain - from muddy walks in the woods to around town. Easy to change wheel from static to swivel, although the knob fell off! Luckily I have a van so I wheel the thing in and out easily. It's tricky to fold up completely without removing the front wheel. Easy enough, but not a one handed, baby juggling job. Biggest gripe is the rain cover. This doesn't fit. I have taken it back to the shop (Cotswolds) but they say that the manufacturer isn't interested in sorting it out!! It will fold over the cosy-toes, but not stretch over the footplate. So this means either pulling so hard that the velcro on the back pulls un-done, and leaves a gap at the back, or wet feet! It is also coming apart at the back. It seems they were a bit stingey on the cut of it, which is a shame. Check before you buy!! It might have been a one off (or 2 - my friend sent her double buggy back because of this.) Super light, easy to wheel around. My little girl has been in it since she was 2 months old, and it's great for her!
Member review by sarah - mother of 13 month old daughter - review date 13 December 2007

 Ease of Use: 10 out of 10
 Value for Money: 10 out of 10
 Quality: 10 out of 10
 Overall score: 10 out of 10
"great product a must for busy parents"
i bought with buggy for my second child and wish i had for my first.its so easy to steer with one hand a must with a toddler to keep hold off too.the cosytoes is the warmest ive seen which is brill as i live in scotland and it kept my little one realluy warm during the snowy season. this buggy is also very light to pick up in and out your car and a must for public transport.the hood on this buggy is really big and great for the summer months with no need for a sun parasol.the seat is really wide and my 4 year old fits comfortably in it with room to move.the seat also has a padded liner which was great for my newborn.we purchased the extra shopping basket and can hold quite a bit which is good on days out plus also has a netted compartment at back of seat with holds more shopping.the raincover is brill as it covers all of baby even my 4 year old doesnt get wet unlike some buggies.i would recommend this buggy to anyone.
Member review by samantha - mother of 2,ethan aged 3 and leon aged 2 - review date 22 May 2007


Write a review of this product   |    See other reviews in this category